Octopus kimono tee

octopus teeI’m jumping into the community competition in the Sew Mama Sew super online sewing match, although circumstances may keep me from my sewing machine from mid July through mid August, so I’m not sure how many garments I’ll make.  However, I’ve decided that the challenge will be stash busting for me – no new patterns and no new fabric for now, as I have plenty of both.  I put the Sutton blouse in my “pattern to get” list on my Pinterest page, and used a self drafted kimono tee pattern.  I also used some great octopus material I got from Spoonflower a year or so ago for my first entry, the top challenge.  There are many ways to self draft a kimono tee, but I used this tutorial from Makery as a start.

I like this kimono tee for several reasons – it is quick and doesn’t use a lot of faIMG_0818IMG_0810bric.  It has a nice easy fit (which is good for our hot summers in North Carolina) and it can be used for knits or light wovens.  I can also use the same basic draft for the front and back, although I usually change the neckline just a bit.  This means that I can make a reversible shirt, with a slightly different look on the two sides.  I think it came out as a very cute make!

ps.  For those of you wondering about the octopus, my husband and I are both biologists, and he is a marine biologist who works on octopus and squid – I can’t resist a good octopus design. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ DIMG_0812etails:  I used the serger on the seams, and did a self fabric band on the neck – I made the band about 3.5 inches shorter than the neckline opening (here’s a good tutorial).  The sleeves were finished with a fabric cuff.  Finally, for the hem, I ironed on about an inch wide strip of knit fusible interfacing on the bottom, folded it over twice and hemmed with a twin needle. I like this double fold on thin fabrics, as it stops some of the tunneling of the twin needle.   I’m not 100% certain about the Spoonflower material/print.  I think it is the “performance knit” fabric, which is nice enough.  But, I don’t think I’d get a black print again, as the dye layer is fairly thin and when stretched shows the white. I’ve read reviews that the color fades, so we’ll see.  But  I love the bright bold print. I also made an error on the neck binding.  I usually put the seam in the back when I do knit tops, but forgot this time that in a top that is designed to be worn with either side on the front, I need to put the neckband seam with one of the side seams.

2 thoughts on “Octopus kimono tee

Leave a Reply

